Mexico Elect Claudia Sheinbaum as First Female President

( Claudia Sheinbaum has been elected to be Mexico’s first female president after she garnered 60% of the vote.

Sheinbaum served as the Mayor of Tialpan from 2015-2017 and worked as the Head of Government in Mexico City from 2018 to 2023, which is similar to being a state governor in the United States. Sheinbaum is a member of the Morena Party, just like the current president, Andrés Manuel López Obrador,

The party has been popular in Mexico for helping Mexicans get out of poverty. During Sheinbaum’s victory speech, she said her administration will work for all of the people of Mexico. She acknowledged that many people disagree with her political stances and goals, but said she will work with all Mexicans to build a more prosperous country.

Sheinbaum was appointed to her first political position in 2000 as environment secretary by Obrador when he was serving as the Head of Government in Mexico City. After that position, she joined the International Panel on Climate Change and won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007 as part of that team.

This election cycle had a record number of political assassinations with 37 candidates killed during the course of the campaign. This is not unordinary because the mid-term elections in 2021 set the previous record with 36 political assassinations. The candidates killed were being considered for a variety of political positions.

The current administration and the Morena Party has been criticized for having a high murder rate in the country. Opposition candidates have used the murder rate as a campaign issue and a call for change.

Murders and assassinations have continued in the aftermath of Sheinbaum’s historic election victory. The mayor of Cotija, Yolanda Sanchez Figueroa, was shot down in the streets approximately 24 hours following the announcement of Sheinbaum’s victory. Sanchez was kidnapped in September 2023 after leaving a shopping mall. The authorities are trying to find the people responsible for her assassination.

Copyright 2024,